20 June 2024

Boundary shake-up leads to constituency changes ahead of General Election

by Joe Gerrard

Voters in Hull and the East Riding going to the polls for July’s General Election may find that they are now in a different constituency following changes to their boundaries.

All but two parliamentary constituencies in Hull and the East Riding have been given new names after taking in areas that were previously in other seats.

Nationally, just 65 out of the 650 seats in the House of Commons have the same boundaries that they did for the last General Election in 2019.

The changes come as part of a review of constituencies by the Boundary Commission for England (BCE) which published its final proposals last year.

The changes were designed to try to make constituencies roughly equally sized in terms of the number of voters living in them.

And they come ahead of the General Election called by Prime Minister Rishi Sunak yesterday (Wednesday, May 22) which is set for Thursday, July 4.

There are currently three Labour MPs in Hull – Diana Johnson in Hull North, Emma Hardy in Hull West and Hessle, and Karl Turner who represents Hull East.

The East Riding is currently home to four constituencies all represented by Conservatives.

Greg Knight is MP for East Yorkshire, Graham Stuart represents Beverley and Holderness, David Davis is in Haltemprice and Howden, while Andrew Percy is the member for Brigg and Goole.

When the election takes place, however, voters in Cottingham will find that they are now in Dame Diana’s constituency, which has been renamed Hull North and Cottingham.

Meanwhile, the seat represented by Ms Hardy will take in Anlaby, Willerby and Kirk Ella and be called Hull West and Haltemprice.

Mr Turner’s Hull East seat will take in the North Carr ward from Dame Diana’s seat but will otherwise remain unchanged.

In the East Riding, Mr Percy’s Brigg and Goole seat will cease to exist come July.

The majority of it will form part of the new Goole and Pocklington seat which takes in both towns along with the East Riding wards of Howdenshire, Howden and South Hunsley.

Those areas are currently covered by Sir David’s Haltemprice and Howden seat.

It will also take Dale, Snaith, Airmyn, Rawcliffe and Marshland and part of Wolds Weighton.

Sir Greg’s East Yorkshire seat has also been redrawn and will become Bridlington and the Wolds.

It will gain North Holderness ward but lose Pocklington Provincial and part of Wolds Weighton.

Mr Stuart’s Beverley and Holderness seat will keep its name and remain unchanged apart from losing the North Holderness ward, which covers the Hornsea area.