20 June 2024

General Election candidates confirmed

by Ivan Morris Poxton

The General Election candidates in constituencies across our region have been announced.

Labour, the Conservatives, Liberal Democrats, Reform UK and the Green Party are standing candidates in all local seats.

There are independents and five other parties also standing in constituencies across Hull, East Yorkshire and Northern Lincolnshire.

Polling day is Thursday, July 4, and the deadline to register to vote is midnight on Tuesday, June 18. To register for vote, visit gov.uk/register-to-vote.

The deadline for new postal vote applicants or amendments to existing proxy votes is Wednesday, June 19. For new proxy vote applications and for voter authority certificates, these applications must be made by 5pm on Wednesday, June 26.

The full list of candidates in our region is listed in alphabetical order below, including the new Bridlington and the Wolds constituency which now includes Hornsea.

Beverley and Holderness

  • Chris Collin – Social Democratic Party
  • Denis Healy – Liberal Democrats
  • George McManus – Yorkshire Party
  • John Ottaway – Alliance for Democracy and Freedom
  • Margaret Pinder – Labour Party
  • Andrew Smith – Reform UK
  • Jonathan Stephenson – Green Party
  • Graham Stuart – Conservative Party

Bridlington and the Wolds

  • Maria Bowtell – Reform UK
  • Sarah Carter – Labour Party
  • Tom Cone – Independent
  • Charlie Dewhirst – Conservative Party
  • Gill Leek – Green Party
  • Tim Norman – Yorkshire Party
  • Jayne Phoenix – Liberal Democrats
  • Carlo Verda – Social Democratic Party (SDP)